Answers

A over at DosBabyMamas asked the following questions:

What’s your favorite thing to do as a couple?
Do you have any traditions that are specific to the 2 of you?
What’s your favorite vacation destination?

Our favorite thing to do as a couple…hmmm….that’s a good question! This is going to sound really dull and boring, but we love just being together, so anything we do alone together is nice. Every once in a while we’re able to go out to dinner alone (doesn’t happen a lot) and that is always fun. We try to stay very active and we like to go on long walks and talk, and in the summer we like to swim. But I think my favorite thing to do with her is lay in bed talking at the end of the night. We’ve been together 6 and a 1/2 years, and we still have things to talk about! We find ourselves holding hands a lot during this and we don’t even realize we are doing it. Wow, I sound really old and dull!

Traditions specific to the 2 of us? This is hard to say because we were an instant family, so a lot of the stuff we do for holidays and such is brought from both of our experiences and not made up by the two of us. We have always loved getting up super early on Christmas (sometimes we are up before Little D!) and we love the excitement in the air. We do have one tradition, on Christmas Eve, we have my family over to exchange gifts and eat together. This is really nice as I have always felt like it’s important to stay home with my little family on the actual holiday, and this way I don’t feel so guilty doing it! We are a very mellow threesome, and we like the peace and quiet on a holiday. This is sometimes hard to achieve, since my parents live right down the street, and are very vocal about wanting us to come down there. Since we started the Christmas Eve party, those gripes have ended for that. We also have the tradition of sitting on the front porch swing and handing out candy on Halloween. I was never allowed to celebrate Halloween as a child, so it’s special to me to keep up that tradition, even when my wife wants to stop doing it altogether. Then we have the lovey-dovey traditions of always saying I love you and kissing when one of us leaves the house, and right before bed. In fact, we say I love you and kiss all the time. It’s really important to both of us because we both came from relationships where that didn’t happen. And even though you know someone loves you, it nice to hear on a daily basis.

Vacation destination…well, as you can probably tell, we are HUGE homebodies! I hate to travel (as I have travel anxiety), so the only place we have been was York Beach, Maine for a few days. My wife loves Old Orchard Beach, Maine, and someday we may go there. I’ve been in every state on the east coast, and to Canada while growing up, and Florida was a fun trip. Oh, and I love New York City! But truly, my favorite destination is my home. We have everything we need there, and we save money! LOL!

Yeah, so these answers pretty much suck and make us seem really boring….maybe we are….having a teenager in the house means a lot of time is spent worrying about him, what he needs, do we have enough money to feed him for the next two years? Etc, etc, etc….being a mom is a lot of work! I guess I’d rather be boring than stressed all the time though!

More questions please!!

About thelesbiannextdoor

I am a 40 year old lesbian, living with her wife in a small town. I have a 22 year old step-son. Who knows, I could be your neighbor ;) (Unless you know for sure your neighbor is not a lesbian - then I'm probably not!)

Posted on October 26, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. You most certainly do NOT sound boring! What great answers!!!

    It’s so nice to learn a little bit more about the other mamas on the block! Thanks so much for sharing!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

