“Fat”

So today I have been thinking a lot about body image. Why do women always call themselves “fat” when they aren’t? Is it for attention? Is it to make themselves feel good? And then I realized why it is. Every commercial on TV that has anything to do with weight loss stars some skinny-ass chick thinking she needs to lose weight! What is up with that?!
I have had my share of body issues. I hate my thighs for example. But that may trace back to when I was 16 and dating a guy who called me “thunder thighs”, but I digress. I have never been morbidly obese, never even that much “overweight”. I’m 5’4″ and weigh 144lbs. I think I wear it well. Back when I dated that guy, I was maybe 110lbs at most. Right now I am at the high end of the “normal” BMI. But I’m okay with it most days. Then there are the days when I am stressed, PMSing and emotional and think I am fat. Why? Because of our society. Because it is constantly telling us we are fat – even when we’re not!
And this size 6 bullsh*t…I have friends who have whole spare tires around their waists, yet they insist they are a size 6! So here I am, looking at myself and my not size 6 body, and I feel bad that I am not what people say I should be. I am healthy. I eat healthy the majority of the time, and I stay active. This is the size my body wants to be. And I want to truly embrace it. What about you? Do you embrace your size, no matter what it is?

About thelesbiannextdoor

I am a 40 year old lesbian, living with her wife in a small town. I have a 22 year old step-son. Who knows, I could be your neighbor ;) (Unless you know for sure your neighbor is not a lesbian - then I'm probably not!)

Posted on June 18, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Thanks for your comment and question on our blog, we’ll answer shortly…

    And yeah, the “fat” stuff bugs me too. Why can’t the focus be healthy and not skinny?

Leave a Reply

